2017 disney rewatch · life with muse and maestro

Disney Rewatch: 1937 – 1940!

My husband (whom I refer to as Maestro on Ye Olde Grande Internette for various reasons) and I are homebodies, for sure, and fairly broke ones at that. Between a student working part time (me) and a professional musician (him), we don’t make a lot of extra money to spend on entertainment. Thus, we are big believers in Netflix and other such streaming services, and also what the kids call “bingewatching.” We are also big Disney nerds – I have been for most of my life, and I converted Maestro well enough that we spent our honeymoon last year in Disney World.

Having caught up on all the television shows we’re currently interested in, we decided to embark on a grand rewatch of the Disney animated canon, as well as things that are animated and live action! We might decide to throw a few of the solely live action movies in as well, but we figured even just the animated movies would keep us busy for a while!

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
tumblr_midor5rtqc1rnhveno1_500
Snow White, the character, holds a special place in my heart – when Maestro and I first dated (back in high school), the first song he ever wrote for me referred to me as Snow White. She’s sweet and kind, thoughtful and self-effacing, so even though she’s fallen out of fashion these days I still love her and aspire to be like her!

That said, rewatching Snow White’s tale was delightful! I hadn’t seen it since I was very little, so I’d forgotten many of the less-famous songs, and the art and aesthetics are absolutely beautiful.

Pinocchio
tenor
Pinocchio is MUCH stranger than I remember it being – and for the record, I remembered the donkey thing and the whale thing, so I remembered it being strange enough. I didn’t remember that some animals can talk and others can’t with no real rhyme or reason to it, and I really didn’t remember that Jiminy Cricket was just a random cricket hobo who got appointed as Pinocchio’s conscience for no dang good reason!

I think that we can all agree that Figaro is the cutest Disney cat, though.
tumblr_od4vuukvkb1vse8ewo1_250
(awww!)

Fantasia
tumblr_mfq2krksq71qki7dgo1_500
I remembered the parts of Fantasia that I liked as a child – namely, the parts set to the Nutcracker suite (I took ballet lessons as a child and loved ballet music!), especially the snow and flower fairies, and the Pastoral Symphony with the pegasus family that looks a bit like if Maestro and I were pegasus (pegasi?) with a bunch of pegasus babies.

tumblr_mxzjg3chnn1qfo1o9o1_400 tumblr_oagameipcq1t3n8dxo1_500
(look at them omg!)

I did NOT remember the talk about evolution before the Rites of Spring interlude (or, frankly, the dinosaurs at all!), and I didn’t really remember the last part set to the Night on Bald Mountain and the Ave Maria. Perhaps unsurprisingly, I enjoyed the same parts the most on this rewatch – I haven’t changed that much since I was little, I guess!

me: why are these fish so sexualized
Maestro: (grimly) that’s the 40s for you.

(watching dinosaurs starving in the desert) aw that’s going to be us soon! 😬

Watch this space for more Disney Rewatch fun soon!

Leave a Reply

